The Moth Chase

Elevating the Art of Procrastanalysis – Academics wasting time on pop culture

The triumphant rise of a Boardwalk Empire?

with one comment

…I sure hope so!

Hello friends, this is Martin, back by the generosity of our favorite gals at the Moth Chase, this time around bringing my inane ramblings to HBO’s upcoming Boardwalk Empire. In conjunction with the Moth Chase, I am trying something new this time around. I will be blogging every week before the show airs…so I’ll be analyzing the prior week’s episode, while commenting on thoughts for the shortly upcoming episode. This in part has to do with trying something new creatively, but also with having a difficult Monday and Tuesday schedule, and figuring that publishing about a Sunday show on Wednesday would be no fun. So, generally, check back here on Sunday for a blog post about the show. I will do my best not to disappoint.

Since, however, nothing has yet aired. Let me say a few words about why this show promises to be absolutely stunning.

First, Martin Scorsese. We know that Scorses has been involved with the series since the beginning. And we know that the look and feel of the show owes itself to Scorsese (with future director’s emulating his design) and that Scorsese hopes to be involved with the show to come. I don’t think I need to say why Scorsese is awesome (Kundun was still awesome, so don’t try to go there!), but in case you’ve forgotten: this is about 1920s Atlantic City and Scorsese just fits.

Second, Steve Buscemi. What more do I need to say? We love him as a supporting actor and here he seems to take the lead…I suspect this can only be a good thing. Buscemi brings an authenticity and vitality to any role he touches and this should prove to be no exception.

Third, Michael K. Williams. This name may not mean anything to you, but all I have to do is say “Omar Little” and you know exactly what I’m talking about. Omar is an absolutely epic and legendary character, and that had as much to do with Williams’s acting as it did with the writing on The Wire. He is set to play Chalky White…the “unofficial” mayor of Chickenbone Beach. I have high hopes and I’m sure he won’t disappoint.

Fourth, Terence Winter. We all know how much of a disappointment the finale of Sopranos was (sorry if you thought it was good–it wasn’t.) But that’s not Winter’s fault. He helped write this show and we all know that Sopranos, when it was “on,” it was on. I’m excited to see him to his work here.

Fifth, as much as I hate to give a shout out to corporations…HBO continually puts out some of the best shows on television (The Wire, Deadwood, Sopranos, Ali G, Treme, True Blood, etc., etc.) and I am sure this won’t disappoint.

So, join me next week as we commence this whole shindig properly. In the meantime, I leave you with some German philosophy…let us hope that Adorno’s maxim that “every work of art is an uncommitted crime” rings true in the case of this series and it is able to explicitly or implicitly, intentionally or unintentionally, shed light on the peculiarly destructive amalgamation of capitalism and corporatism that we presently find ourselves in.

Best,

Martin

Written by Martin

September 19, 2010 at 5:26 pm

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I don’t even know what this show is and I haven’t read the post yet, but my immediate reaction to this picture?

    OMAR!!!!!!!

    Love him.

    Victoria Winters

    September 20, 2010 at 11:00 am


Leave a Reply

