The Moth Chase

Elevating the Art of Procrastanalysis – Academics wasting time on pop culture

Everything Happens in the Blink of an Eye

with 22 comments

Hey Kathryn,

Oh my goodness, where to start?!  I’m sure the inter-tubes will be exploding today with love and hate for this episode, so let me begin by saying – I loved it!  LOVED IT!  I was totally satisfied…and not just satisfied, but it actually showed me what it would even mean to be satisfied and then fulfilled that.  There’s no way to cover everything, so I’m going to focus on what I loved best – the flashes of memory!

Jin and Sun: man, I love these two!  And I love that Juliet facilitated their reunion.  This was the first flashback, and the one that showed us something immediately new.  Jin and Sun didn’t just flash to things that had originally happened on this island (seasons 1-5), as has happened so far for others this season.  They actually flashed all the way to their deaths.  They felt it all, and they learned the language.  And we got the core theme of the episode – that finitude is what gives meaning to life.  Life matters because it’s short.  And we had a wonderful clue that this was going to become important minutes after with Richard’s first gray hair…for him too, the possibility of death is what made him want to live.  The heaven we would eventually reach in the episode is a Heaven made up by the events of life – a heaven made up by our relationships and loves and even hopes.

Sayid and Shannon (and Boone): I AM SO VINDICATED!!  You heard it first here Moth Chase friends…I don’t want to gloat, but I have to.  All season long I’ve been saying that Sayid’s one true love is going to be Shannon, not Nadya…because when he made the deal with Locke, the women’s name remained unsaid.  I have had friend after friend after random person tell me how wrong I am.  Eat it y’all.  I was right.

And that’s what I got out of that scene.

Also, Boone forgot how to play Boone and showed up as Damon from the Vampire Diaries instead.  I’m not complaining.  I like Damon better.

(Daniel and Charlotte – it’s not so intense because they’re not going to make it to Heaven?  I don’t fully understand this yet…so Desmond isn’t taking Daniel from Eloise – ok, does that mean they – like as in Daniel and Charlotte, and Miles and Lapides, and a few others –  are all shadows or something, playing bit parts in someone else’s Heaven as a memory, but not actually living there?  That’s my take on it – what do you think, K?)

Island Interlude #1 – Jack can make Flocke bleed coz that thing got taken out of that hole (PS-I love it later when Jack picks up that giant penis and puts it back in the hole…most phallic thing ever – awesome!).  This is getting really good!  Flocke’s look of shock and fear is awesome!

Claire and Kate (and Charlie) – I love that the memory return in this story doesn’t happen over the romantic love but over the connection between two women who have come to care for each other deeply through the shared raising of a child.  I guess that’s as close to a same-sex parenting couple we’re going to get on Lost.  For all the ways Kate has annoyed me over these 6 seasons, I thought her acting was superb in this scene.  Apparently once everyone gets reconciled in Lost to each other, I feel reconciled to them too!

What I loved about this scene is that even though Kate and Jack are going to end up together, her memory doesn’t come from him…and when they kiss good-bye on the cliff, I’m convinced he loves her to his core, but not that she loves him the same way.  There’s a more complicated understanding of love going on here, and I like it.  Kate has always had more complicated relationships – she ends up with Jack in Heaven because that’s where her history plays out, not necessarily because of some spiritual connection.  I think this rings true to life – we all experience love differently and I’m glad that Lost is willing to show us that.

Island Interlude #2 – holy shit Kate shoots Flock!  F*cking awesome!  Jack’s throat getting cut gives an amazing explanation of why Jack’s neck keeps bleeding in Alterna-world – I love it!

Jack and Locke – I love that Locke gets it right away and Jack continues to resist.  They’ve returned to their original positions of man of faith and man of reason/doubt.  But what does it mean that Jack doesn’t have a son (at least according to Locke)?  In fact, this is one of the places where my resolution is not complete (but that’s fine) – Aaron seems to be a baby in Heaven?  And Jin and Sun’s kid was never born?  But the mythology seems to state that everything that happened happened – so we should have those kids…unless they’re not dead yet?  I’m confused about this.  Yeah, maybe they’re just not there yet.

I loved watching those who were in the know encounter those who weren’t yet there – like Jin and Sun looking at Sawyer so lovingly in the hospital room and then saying they’d see him later, and Hurley coming upon Charlie and pretty much everyone else he came upon…lovely!

Also love that Miles fixes the plane with duct tape!

And love that this time Kate and Sawyer jump in the water together!

Sawyer and Juliet – this was my favourite!!  These two are the real deal.  I’ve been waiting to hear Juliet say her lines about coffee and going dutch, and she did not disappoint!  There’s was the first flashback moment that really integrated the island memories and the Heaven-world into a seamless narrative reunion.  Everyone else had flashbacks.  Juliet and Sawyer incorporated their flashbacks into their conversation.  That’s a deep connection – the deepest love connection of the show.  It’s funny – I read in the New York times last week that the two unintended plot lines were the development of Ben’s character and the Juliet/Sawyer love – and these were easily two of my favourite parts of the show.  Perhaps an unintentional theme of Lost is that you can’t plan everything and most often it’s the stuff you don’t intend that is most magical.

Jack and Kate – Poor Jack continues to resist…but Kate waits patiently till he’s ready.   Funny how I’m warming to Kate in the final episode…perhaps I’ll enjoy her even more when the box set comes out.

Um, the target commercials – awesome!

Island Interlude #3: Ok, the theologian in me can’t resist this one – Hurley wants to stop Jack from giving his life up for the island.  Jack tells him he has to fulfill his purpose and entrusts the island to Hurley.  This was so very much the Gospel story of Peter trying to stop Jesus from going to the cross and Jesus saying he has to go, then giving Peter the keys to the Kingdom…this was allegory at its best!  The Christological imagery was so rampant, it almost needn’t be mentioned – pierced side, death and resurrection, Shepherd, etc… – but this was my favourite version of it.  Then you add in Hurley sharing the keys with Ben and you’ve got Peter and Paul coming together to lead the church.  Ben is Saul turned Paul (I gotta thank my husband for pointing that one out), persecuting the righteous only to become righteous once he quite literally sees the light.  I love that Hurley and Ben end up guarding the island together, and then reconnecting in Heaven…what a beautiful picture of hope.  I love that everyone is reconciled in this world – even Locke and Ben have a sweet moment…lovely!

Yeah, so that church has the most multi-faith stained glass window I’ve ever seen; not just Christianity, Judaism and Islam and Buddhism, but also, I think, the donkey wheel from the island.  That kind of made me giggle, but I love it.  Thanks Lost – we have all religions in Heaven, it seems…just no gay people, no unattractive people and only one black person.  But at least we’ve got all the religions.  Or at least 4 of them.

Jack and Christian – Jack finally gives in and lets the memories flow, seeing everyone he helped, everyone he loved, and a whole lotta Kate.  We have a father/son reconciliation – finally, and Jack gets to know he’s dead.

So here’s what I find interesting – the series answers what Alterna-World is, but it doesn’t really answer what the island is.  By placing the Heaven in LA, not on the island, the show makes the island a real place.  As far as whatever happens happens goes, the lives of everyone on the island – their original crash and their return – are all a part of their real lives.  Some stay on the island.  Some return home again.  Some die.  And then they all die – but at very different times.  Some folks might be annoyed today that Lost ended up with a Heaven.  But it didn’t end with just a Heaven.  It maintained the mystery of the island as a place that exists in our world – a gateway to all things good and evil, and a mythical place that is neither Heaven, nor Hell, nor the real world, nor a spiritual world.  It’s science and myth and religion and something more.  It’s real mystery beyond all those things.

And that’s why in the end – I’m totally satisfied by this ending.  Because in the end, the only thing I think can truly satisfy us is the mystery of unknowing…the mystery of unknowing paired with the joy of pondering that unknowable.

Thanks for sharing this journey with me, K – I can’t wait to hear what you thought!

xoxo,
Natalie

—–

Dear N,

Wow.  I am right there with you. I loved this finale. Was it perfect? No. Did it answer so many of the questions that linger? Not by a long shot. Did it provide the emotional resolution I craved? Oh so very much. Like you, I find it hard this close to my first viewing of the finale to speak about it in a unified or sustained way, so let me also just offer some initial observations and responses.

Heaven, hell and in between: I read the Alterna-world as the purgatory that we once suspected the island might have been, a kind of holding ground for our characters to work through remaining character issues and to eventually find the relationships that meant the most in their real-life formation. This notion of purgatory, not as a place of punishment, but of soul-refinement seemed to be reinforced when Ben says to Locke that he has a few more things to work out and won’t be going with the rest of the crew. I also loved that in the end what seemed to matter most was character – not fate or mysticism – and that character was determined by relationship. Sure, we are mostly talking about heterosexual pairings, but as you point out, there are plenty of other relationships that matter – Kate and Claire, Jack and Locke, Jack and Christian, Charlie and Hurley.

Reality: I also loved that the island and all that happened on it was real. Perhaps the hardest thing for me to get my head around at first was the idea that Kate, Claire, Lapides, Miles, Richard and Sawyer actually left the island on the plane rigged together with duct tape. Wouldn’t you absolutely have loved to know what happened to them? What kind of lives did they led? How long they lived? What the hell Richard did? One huge question for me is whether or not Jack really did save the island. In which case, what was up with the island under the sea that we saw during the season premiere? My overall interpretation was that the atomic bomb did not destroy things, nor did it kill our characters. Rather, it reset time and set in motion the island action we’ve been watching all season. The Alterna-world which seemed like a parallel track somehow triggered by the bomb, was in fact a non-time, non-place purgatory where our characters “went” after they died (all at different times and after different stories). But I thought that meant that the island under water was really under water – the result of the actions of Locke and Jack. Or was that just supposed to be a teaser – a “what could have happened but didn’t”. Or maybe it is just a lose end that isn’t going to be neatly tied together… If the island isn’t destroyed, that means Hurley and Ben stayed behind protecting the island for an unspecified amount of time (which seems to be the case since they allude to this joint work together outside the church). Were they eventually killed and replaced by others? I would love to watch that series too!

Revelations: I loved watching our characters come to revelations of their past lives and like you, I especially loved that not all these revelations were triggered by romantic love. Perhaps the most moving revelation was the one shared by Jin and Sun – maybe because they remembered their lives all the way through their deaths. At least, it was the moment when I realized something stranger than I thought was going on. Up until then I still thought Alterna-world was “real” somehow, but watching Jin and Sun remember dying together totally knocked my socks off and clued me in to something much bigger going on. The most satisfying and profound reunion for me was, like for you, the one between Juliet and Sawyer. I was a little worried that Sawyer and Kate were making goo-goo eyes at each other again, and I so wanted Sawyer’s soul mate to be Juliet, so that was deeply, deeply satisfying (high five and tons of props, by the way, for calling it on Sayid and Shannon!).

Theological allegory: I don’t have much to add to your fantastic reading of the Peter/Paul allegory, except to reinforce it. Instead of bearing wounds on his hands and feet or dying in a cruciform position, we see Jack with a pierced side. A definite allusion to Christ, but also the wound that traditionally is depicted as birthing the church – the blood and water that rush from Christ’s side are symbols both of literal birth (Christ as mother of the Church) and of baptism and eucharist, the sacraments that birth and sustain the church. I thought it was pretty theologically savvy to give us this image instead of any other Christ-like allusions. And yes, I do think that was the donkey wheel on the universalist stained glass window!

I suppose the only other thing to say for the moment is to try and express the strange sadness I felt watching Christian open the door into the blinding light. I gather that we are supposed to imagine all our characters walking into the light and “moving on” to whatever is next – heaven perhaps. I am glad that didn’t show this and I am glad we don’t see whatever is supposed to be next. But at the same time I am dying to know whether they are all still together and if so, what makes whatever is next different from the holding pattern they’ve been in? I think I have this lingering fear that somehow whatever is next is not going to be like real life, and therefore the poignancy of their finding each other and reuniting will be dissipated. I already feel an inexplicable sadness for their various losses – imagining them all continuing on various lives we don’t see, bereft of each other, and then dying. There is something traumatic about this vision: all these people suffering so much together, undergoing so much, and having to live with all these holes and gaps and losses. There is something so satisfying about seeing them given back the things that matter most, the relationships that most define them. I just want to know that they get to stay together in a world where relationships continue to be the defining feature. Perhaps this sadness is only a reflection of my own desire not to want to say goodbye to these characters, but to imagine a place where I keep getting to know what happens to their lives and loves.

A final digressive question: if Alterna-world is a kind of purgatory, are the lives they are given the expression of their deepest desires or their deepest selves, or a kind of challenge, or both? For instance, is Sawyer a cop now because that is most in line with his character when he died, or a challenge for him as a former con man to work out his trust and responsibility issues? Why do some people seem to repeat their lives (Kate still on the run) and others are given relatively new starts (Jack with a son)? I know there is not a definite answer, just something I am puzzling through.

I think I will be puzzling through many more things for a lot of time to come.  Perhaps we can both re-watch the whole series at some point and do a reunion post. I’ll meet you in a church and we’ll go from there…

xoxo,

K

Written by themothchase

May 23, 2010 at 11:53 pm

22 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Best series finale ever. I was all set up for dissapointment and prepared to accept it as a sub-par ending, hvaing been disspaointed by so many other shows but as of right now I tihnk they did this right!

    “…are all shadows or something, playing bit parts in someone else’s Heaven as a memory, but not actually living there?”

    My fiance and I came to the conclusion that sideways was Jack’s personal (entry?) to heaven. Jimmy Kimmel actually had a good comment about how some religions have believe you must pass some final “test”, which could last nano-seconds or years, before entering “the next step” and sideways world seemed to be Jack’s test and the others who were ready to leave or greet him were there. Maybe Ben does not feel he has passed his (or he thinks Jack is not ready to see him), or that Charlotte and Daniel are not ready for their test yet (like Ana Lucia).

    By claiming it as Jacks personal could explain why some people are or are not there as well, because Jack did not have personal relationships with Daniel and Charlotte, as he barely knew them before the island vanished and he was saved.

    Anyway, great finale for one of the greatest shows ever in my opinion!

    BTW I cam to your site from links talking about Big Love and am glad I stayed to continue reading your posts. I enjoy them, and am glad you follow the same shows I do (Glee, Big Love, Lost, 30 Rock, The Office, Modern Family, etc.)

    Dozenz

    May 24, 2010 at 8:56 am

    • Natalie, thanks for sharing your enthusiasm. I was more frustrated than enthused, but you are helping me to see more in the episode than I did at first. I especially like your collective work with Tyler on Peter/Saul to Paul. The allegory of Christ, Peter/Paul works well in this episode, but what do you make of the previous two protectors? For whom are they allegories.

      I wish we knew more about the island when all was said and done. It feels like the final episode answered the questions of the last season fairly satisfactorily, but left basic season long questions unanswered. i’m cool with some unanswered questions, but a few too many basic questions went unanswered for my tastes .

      glad you loved it!

      sarah

      May 24, 2010 at 9:16 am

  2. I’m not sure if I loved the finale yet (have to watch again without alcohol!) and I’m not entirely sure it’s “heaven” as not all the people there are dead yet (Christian says so). (Also “heaven” just feels too easy to me.) I was frustrated by all the happy coupling in the end church scene – no homosexual relations are shown, and only 1-2 single people. I don’t see how the scene with Kate and Jack opens up the love narrative any further than a hetero union – can you expound on that more?

    victoria winters

    May 24, 2010 at 9:13 am

    • oh, and the one thing that REALLY irritated me about the ending was that it felt like a gathering of the elite survivors. what happened to the asshole teacher? michael and his son? yes, our favorites made it in… and i get that this is about the community that was formed and that meant something to one another… but… the people who were left out (those you named among them) disturbed me.

      and i just can’t get my head around the whole widmore plot line- AT ALL.

      sarah

      May 24, 2010 at 9:19 am

    • By opening up the love narrative, I mean that I don’t think Kate loves Jack like Jack loves Kate. Kate flitted back and forth between Jack and Sawyer and in the end I don’t think she had a “soul-mate” like others did. She was happy with Jack and made a life with him, but it wasn’t like a “everyone has one true person” kind of thing. It seemed to me to be a more accurate picture of some folks just having numerous loves throughout life and that being ok.

      themothchase

      May 24, 2010 at 12:15 pm

      • I see what you mean about Kate. She definitely remains a strong woman on her own who doesn’t necessarily need a man to fulfill her. And I like the bond she formed with Claire – friendships are just as important as lovers.

        Victoria Winters

        May 25, 2010 at 10:11 am

  3. Also, did you notice that Kate changed clothes after the concert? Guess you can’t wear a fancy dress in heaven. 😉

    victoria winters

    May 24, 2010 at 10:00 am

  4. I’ll say this…based on reading a lot of comments and a lot of tweets, either you liked it or you hated it. It seems like there were two kinds of viewers, 1) those who watched the show for the characters, their relationships, and their fate and 2) those who watched the show because they were intrigued about the island itself, its mysteries, and how all these things (characters included) contributed to something big.

    Ending the show with nothing but hugs and kisses all around, questions about life after death, who ended up loving who, the character’s struggles etc (i.e. group #1) seemed to love the ending. It provided them with the answers they were seeking or at least enough of the type they were looking for to enjoy the finale and series. The other group, #2, which I fall into seem to agree that the answers we were seeking, that never got answered, made the show a waste of time and the ending appear to be a cop out. The enjoyment we got from the show was trying to figure out everything that was going on and why it was so important…hoping for an epic ending about the island before what happened to each person. It appears like the writers could not tie up the loose ends so they either didn’t attempt to and went a different route. To us, that’s why this story that began as an adventure, sci-fi, action sort of show wa a letdown. It turned into something different then it started out for us.

    I’m not saying the finale and series was terrible. I’m just trying to explain the polarized reactions to the show. For me, it’s just proof that the show was made up on the fly and tried to be too many things to too many people. For that I’m disappointed. Either make it about relationships or the island from the get go – or at least tone both down to a point that both are believeable.

    For those that enjoyed it, I’m truly happy you did and that you got your questions answered. For me, I’m still in Lost Purgatory.

    Aaron

    May 24, 2010 at 10:22 am

    • Aaron says,
      “For me, it’s just proof that the show was made up on the fly and tried to be too many things to too many people.”

      Although I really liked the final show, I did have a similar thought as yours. A few years ago the writers said they had an end in mind, and I thought that implied the means to that end was also well established. However, my thought last night was that although they did have an ending in mind, many of the stories along the way have been ‘filler’ to keep the show going until that end.

      But remember, this is TV. It is not a movie. I don’t know that 4 years ago, they knew when the end date for the show would actually be. And once they did, they had to come up with a lot of material in between to entertain the audience, and maintain a level of interest in the show.

      So, for me, the genius in the show goes beyond the story line, the beginning and the end. But it also had to face challenges in production and writing that most of us will never have a concept of.

      I am satisfied with the end. And I am glad they didn’t tell us everything. This leaves the door open for speculation and dialog for quite some time.

      Bryan Hulse

      May 25, 2010 at 11:32 am

  5. The other thing I’ll say, is that this format where the audience doesn’t know what’s going on for an extended period of time really starts to detract from the show after awhile. There is such a thing as too much ambiguity. Sure, it creates buzz, blogs, and discussion, but it really waters the show down. If nothing is what it really seems, then while you’re viewing it the context and impact is completely lost. Point is, after awhile, when someone keeps repeatedly telling you something that isn’t exactly true or what it appears to be (think someone who BS all the time) eventually future things (i.e. future episodes/happenings) are viewed through a lense of doubt. That is, I couldn’t enjoy each episode as much as I could have otherwise if I had known more about what was going on and/or didn’t think what I was viewing was really not the truth. For those episodes that they were telling the truth, I couldn’t tell because I had developed a doubt based on past experience.

    It your classic “boy who cried wolf”. The show had lots of genius moments but for the average viewer (not someone obsessed with a lot of time on their hands), most of that stuff went right over our heads because we didn’t know what to believe. Add in months and months between seasons and much of the quality and intricacies were probably missed. That’s a shame in my opinion… There’s a reason why shows like this don’t happen on TV, it’s because they don’t really work well for the average viewer. By average viewer, I’m not talking about intelligence or sophistication level – I’m talking about people that have a job, a mortgage, and two kids…it’s just too much to follow when you only have a few hours each week to watch the show.

    For all my griping, I’m glad it’s over. It was a good show but nothing more for me. I was hoping I was a part of something revolutionary and big, something that will be remebered for years to come. In the end, I think I’ll forget about this show just like everyone else.

    Aaron

    May 24, 2010 at 10:44 am

    • I kind of agree with you, Aaron!

      Victoria Winters

      May 25, 2010 at 10:14 am

    • I loved the show and hate to say that I was disappointed with the ending. I agree with everything you’ve said and also wanted it to be remembered as one of my all time favourite shows.One that I would probably watch a few times but now because of the ending I probably won’t. We could all use our imagination and write an exciting story then add on an ending to placate the reader that doesn’t really answer how all those mysterious and exciting things were possible.The writers shouldn’t have had so many unbelievable things happening if they didn’t have the answers as to how it could all be possible right from the start. Of course there were allegories but that, for me, wasn’t the essence of the series.The end to me was pointless, already felt that they would be together in an afterlife, didn’t feel the need to see it.Just wanted answers to the many questions and how it affected them in their real life before they died!

      Yvonne

      May 25, 2010 at 12:40 pm

  6. I understand them as “going to heaven” after they leave the church, I just saw them as moving forward. The flash-sideways were a collective mystical experience that allowed them to embrace life, not into something otherworldly.

    They all knew at some time they would die (some sooner than others), but leaving the mystical sideways was an acceptance of it all.

    Thunder Jones

    May 24, 2010 at 10:50 am

  7. BOOM

    You’re welcome.

    Thunder Jones

    May 24, 2010 at 11:18 am

  8. Aaron, I think you’re right about the dichotomy of the fans’ love/hate. But let me argue that the show was about spiritual matters right from the beginning. My first full episode was ‘The Moth’ – an episode full of religious symbolism if there ever was one. Yes, I found the Island mysteries intriguing, but I find the physical effects as merely a manifestation of the spiritual on a material world. Much the way I reconcile my own faith/science in the real world (i.e. I believe in a God, but I also believe that science is one of the tools we have for understanding It’s nature).

    So the spiritual power of The Source manifested itself as electromagnetism that Dharma and Widmore both sought to control, to their destruction. I had no problem with that, and thought the resolution of the story satisfying on many different levels, but I can also understand why many fans do not.

    All in all, I have to give Cuse and Lindelof credit for a bold ending in this post-religious society of ours. It took a lot of guts, that’s for sure.

    Kate

    May 24, 2010 at 2:21 pm

  9. Ive rewatched the ending a few times….and had time to reflect…

    The island is real…sideways is like a heaven waiting room…

    LOST and it’s finale wasn’t about the island, hanso, dharma etc….all those remain basically unanswered (it’d be unfair and greedy of us to want all the answers)….it was the story of our LOSTIES being on that mysterious place like many people before and indeed after them…
    Sideways was created as christian said by the losties to help get them
    to remember..David was a device to help Jack deal with his daddy issues “Jack you don’t have a son” was the first step in gettin Jack where he needed to be…same of how Charlotte forced Sawyer to deal with his parents death and how Lockes gf pushed him towards getting the surgery and letting go…they were only there to help get the Losties to remember..they were never “real”

    We don’t need all the answers about these things….there’s thousands of stories that have happened on that island over the years….this just happens to be one of those stories…the island remains a mystery and it will forever…it now has 2 new care takers to look after it and the light of the world…

    And finally they let go and remember and those who aren’t ready yet…will be eventually…there is no time here as Christian said….
    LOST is about the good of man, forgiveness, letting go, and ulimately about love…..a more fitting ending I can’t imagine….

    Fuzz

    May 24, 2010 at 7:19 pm

  10. I hate to be a pedant but I’ve been correcting a number of people about the stained glass window at the end: The wheel symbol is the Dharmachakra (Wheel of Dharma), the symbol of Buddhism. Presumably it was the inspiration for the wheel in the show, but in this context it seems to just be used as a religious symbol. The symbols on the Window are, from left to right and top to bottom: Islam, Judaism, Hinduism, Christianity, Buddhism and Taoism.

    Other that I pretty much agree with everything you wrote. Loved the finale! 🙂

    ClearestSound

    May 25, 2010 at 8:21 am

  11. Natalie: I love love love reading your reviews!

    You said, “… but it doesn’t really answer what the island is.”

    I assumed it was a form of Purgatory?
    “Purgatory is the condition or process of purification or temporary punishment in which the souls of those who die in a state of grace are made ready for Heaven.”

    Am I missing something if this isn’t the conclusion we were lead to?

    Bryan Hulse

    May 25, 2010 at 11:19 am

    • The island was not purgatory. The closest thing to (but not really) was the Sideways world, in that it was sort of a purgatory for Jack and due to your inpertetation possibly all characters as they came to terms with the their lives and the fact that they died. I feel it was Jack specific considering he was the most resistant, the last one, and everybody waited for him but I could see it both ways.

      I did tihnk it was clear though that the Island was not purgatory, that it just held a source of something that could not leave the island and it needed a protector. They were brought to the island, some died on the island, some left the island where they continued to live their lives until death, and some stayed on the island living their lives until death.

      The only unanswered parts seem to be “what is the source”, “who desiganted the protector”, and “what the hell was all that stuff created around the source” but answers to those questions could not be possible without leaving out a religion or two and probably would sound too cheesy and not satisfy anybody. Which is why i think the way they handled it was acceptable and good.

      Dozenz

      May 26, 2010 at 10:41 am

  12. I’m going to need to let my disappointment cool for a while before I rewatch the finale. My main source of frustration isn’t so much a lack of “answers” as how tacked on/unrelated everything felt. Your review has helped address some of this (thanks) but a few things still irritate me to no end:

    The super-happy ending. Really? NOBODY comes to a bad end. We lost Zombie-Sayid a while back and now Ben and Claire get to come back to the light. And then there’s a BIG group hug. Without any negative consequences things just felt a little hollow.

    Desmond saw purgatory? And misunderstood it? Huh?

    The ultimate evil is defeated with… a fist fight? And then a bullet and clever quip? I expected Lost to give us something more nuanced.

    Ben joins team Smokie, then rejoins team Jack because…

    Am I the only one who thought this thing was riddled with holes?

    jrcwoodward

    May 25, 2010 at 2:19 pm

  13. Nope…I completely agree, jrcwoodward.

    I found the finale and this season in general to be sloppy writing. Everyone who trumps this as some sort of “character driven” story is missing what true character driven stories are like (see, e.g., Buffy or the Wire, or even the Shield). Not providing answers to the “big” questions (about the island, Dharma, etc.) is fine *if* this *were* a character driven story, but instead it’s a hollow, somewhat fickle presentation of various tropes mixed in with great acting and horrendous writing.

    dieeitelkeit

    May 25, 2010 at 9:26 pm


Leave a Reply

