The Moth Chase

Elevating the Art of Procrastanalysis – Academics wasting time on pop culture

Fake eyelashes, fake Computrons, fake Stanley and fake episode – surprisingly makes for a hilarious 22mins!

with 3 comments

Wow, it feels like a really long time since I’ve seen a primetime sitcom do the old montage of flashbacks. I swear I was having my own mini flashbacks to various filler episodes of Growing Pains and Who’s The Boss.  And at first I felt a little ripped off.  But then somewhere in the middle of the liability moments flashback, I found myself laughing hysterically.  Somewhere between Andy’s parking lot Parkour into the giant box, Dwight and the fire, and Angela flinging her cat up into the ceiling, I realized we were in for a treat of reminiscence.

We had classic moments that harkened back not only to American Offices past, but even to the British series with the classic ‘waste of resources’ moment with Jim’s (Tim’s) jello mold prank and Dwight’s (Gareth’s) stapler.  And – and remember, dear readers, how much I love Creed – we had a reminder of how this American Office has branched out into its own genius characters who smell like mung beans and are downright crazy.

The Office relationship section was a reminder of how amazing Kelly Kapur is, and how underused both her and Darryl have been this season – “You need to access your uncrazy side” is one of my all time favourite Office lines ever!  And we got to remember a time when Jim and Pam were way less annoying.  Seriously, that moment when he finally asks her out while she’s describing how it’s ok that he left gets me every time…I just can’t help myself.

Now of course, rehearsing all of Jim and Pam’s relational ups and downs while music soared at the climax of the episode played into trend with The Office that I and others have much criticized…please, please, please listen to us and put the Pam/Jim thing in the background.  It isn’t anyone’s favourite storyline and it shouldn’t be the go-to every time to inspire an emotional response in viewers.  The Office is in fact full of touching moments that have nothing to do with Jim and Pam, and they would do well to remember that whenever they want to tug at our heartstrings.

That being said, the flashback montages were an homage to the brilliance of this ensemble cast in a way that reminded us of how many story arcs, liability moments, hilarious potential sexual harassment suits, visual jokes, physical jokes, and perfectly timed ‘that’s what she said’ jokes this show has given us!  It was a reminder of how great this show can be when it’s firing on all pistons and using all its talent!

Best lines in the episode – in my opinion – were new ones:  Michael’s description of the principles he was applying to sprucing up the office being much like the ones that made Lady Gaga a star…or any number of drag queens; and Dwight’s, “He has more character in a single flake of dandruff than you have in that entire snowbank on your shoulder.”

Best flashback moment – the one that made me laugh so hard my throat hurt: Kevin dropping the chili.  Seriously, I remember the first time we saw that my husband and I rewound it three of four times to watch it again and again it was so funny.

And finally – did anyone else notice Michael’s funny new hair-style…what’s with what appears to be the beginnings of a comb-over on a man with a full head of hair?!

Ah, The Office – it’s been too long since Secret Santa – please don’t ever make us wait a month and 11 days mid-season for a new episode again!

Posted by Natalie.

Read all mothchase reviews of The Office here

Written by themothchase

January 21, 2010 at 10:30 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The chili scene is one of my all time favorites.

    I, for one, thought Michael’s short hair cut was nice. He’s trying to be hipster.

    victoria winters

    January 22, 2010 at 10:58 am

  2. My favorite memory was when Dwight captured the bat…

    Thunder Jones

    January 22, 2010 at 11:56 am

  3. I’ve been a fan of The Office since the beginning of season two. I am very concerned about the airing of a clip show this early in the season. Maybe it’s all the nbc mayhem going on that has me spooked, but, I don’t know. I just hope the suits don’t screw up this show/let it slip through their hands, too. It has been one of the few things they have done right! Thus far.

    Worried in the workplace

    January 23, 2010 at 5:23 am


Leave a Reply

